Coverart for item
The Resource The book of Isaias : a child of Hispanic immigrants seeks his own America, Daniel Connolly

The book of Isaias : a child of Hispanic immigrants seeks his own America, Daniel Connolly

Label
The book of Isaias : a child of Hispanic immigrants seeks his own America
Title
The book of Isaias
Title remainder
a child of Hispanic immigrants seeks his own America
Statement of responsibility
Daniel Connolly
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"In a green town in the middle of America, a bright 18-year-old Hispanic student named Isaias Ramos sets out on the journey to college. Isaias, who passed a prestigious national calculus test as a junior and leads the quiz bowl team, is the hope of Kingsbury High in Memphis, a school where many students have difficulty reading. But Kingsbury's dysfunction, expensive college fees, and forms printed in a language that's foreign to his parents are all obstacles in the way of getting him to a university. Isaias also doubts the value of college and says he might go to work in his family's painting business after high school, despite his academic potential. Is Isaias making a rational choice? Or does he simply hope to avoid pain by deferring dreams that may not come to fruition? This is what journalist Daniel Connolly attempts to uncover in The Book of Isaias as he follows Isaias, peers into a tumultuous final year of high school, and, eventually, shows how adults intervene in the hopes of changing Isaias' life. Mexican immigration has brought the proportion of Hispanics in the nation's youth population to roughly one in four. Every day, children of immigrants make decisions about their lives that will shape our society and economy for generations. In the tradition of Friday Night Lights and A Hope in the Unseen, this engaging, poignant book captures an American microcosm and illustrates broader challenges for our collective future"--
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
Biography type
individual biography
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Connolly, Daniel
Dewey number
  • 305.235/1092
  • B
Illustrations
illustrations
Index
no index present
LC call number
E184.M5
LC item number
C658 2016
Literary form
non fiction
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Ramos, Isaias
  • Mexican American students
  • Children of immigrants
  • Minority college students
  • Talented students
  • Memphis (Tenn.)
  • BIOGRAPHY & AUTOBIOGRAPHY
  • SOCIAL SCIENCE
Label
The book of Isaias : a child of Hispanic immigrants seeks his own America, Daniel Connolly
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
1679722
Dimensions
25 cm
Extent
viii, 258 pages
Isbn
9781250083067
Lccn
2016018423
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Other physical details
illustrations
System control number
  • (Sirsi) 1679722
  • (OCoLC)932576636
Label
The book of Isaias : a child of Hispanic immigrants seeks his own America, Daniel Connolly
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
1679722
Dimensions
25 cm
Extent
viii, 258 pages
Isbn
9781250083067
Lccn
2016018423
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
Other physical details
illustrations
System control number
  • (Sirsi) 1679722
  • (OCoLC)932576636

Library Locations

    • Memorial Hall Library (Andover)Borrow it
      2 North Main Street, Andover, MA, 01810, US
      42.6568333 -71.141443