Coverart for item
The Resource Ghachar ghochar, Vivek Shanbhag ; translated from the Kannada by Srinath Perur

Ghachar ghochar, Vivek Shanbhag ; translated from the Kannada by Srinath Perur

Label
Ghachar ghochar
Title
Ghachar ghochar
Statement of responsibility
Vivek Shanbhag ; translated from the Kannada by Srinath Perur
Creator
Contributor
Author
Translator
Subject
Genre
Language
  • eng
  • kan
  • eng
Summary
For readers of Akhil Sharma, Mohsin Hamid, and Teju Cole, a haunting novel about an upwardly mobile family splintered by success in rapidly changing India. "It's true what they say--it's not we who control money, it's the money that controls us." In this masterful novel by the acclaimed Indian writer Vivek Shanbhag, a close-knit family is delivered from near-destitution to sudden wealth after the narrator's uncle founds a successful spice company. As the narrator--a sensitive young man who is never named--his sister, his parents, and his uncle move from a cramped, ant-infested shack to a larger house and begin to grow accustomed to their newfound wealth, the family dynamics begin to shift. Allegiances and desires realign; marriages are arranged and begin to falter; and conflict brews ominously in the background. Things begin to become "ghachar ghochar"--a nonsense phrase that, to the narrator, comes to mean something entangled beyond repair. Told in clean, urgent prose, and punctuated by moments of unexpected warmth and humor, Ghachar Ghochar is a quietly enthralling, deeply unsettling novel about the shifting meanings--and consequences--of financial gain in contemporary India"--
Member of
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Śānabhāga, Vivēka
Dewey number
894.8/14371
Index
no index present
LC call number
PL4659.S2518
LC item number
G3313 2017
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/relatedWorkOrContributorName
Perur, Srinath
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • Families
  • India
  • FICTION / Literary
  • FICTION / Family Life
  • FICTION / Psychological
Label
Ghachar ghochar, Vivek Shanbhag ; translated from the Kannada by Srinath Perur
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
1693484
Dimensions
19 cm
Edition
Authorized edition.
Extent
119 pages
Isbn
9780143111689
Isbn Type
(paperback)
Lccn
2016027137
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
System control number
  • (Sirsi) 1693484
  • (Sirsi) 1693484
  • (OCoLC)950444129
Label
Ghachar ghochar, Vivek Shanbhag ; translated from the Kannada by Srinath Perur
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
1693484
Dimensions
19 cm
Edition
Authorized edition.
Extent
119 pages
Isbn
9780143111689
Isbn Type
(paperback)
Lccn
2016027137
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
System control number
  • (Sirsi) 1693484
  • (Sirsi) 1693484
  • (OCoLC)950444129

Library Locations

    • Memorial Hall Library (Andover)Borrow it
      2 North Main Street, Andover, MA, 01810, US
      42.6568333 -71.141443
Processing Feedback ...