Coverart for item
The Resource Astrid sees all : a novel, Natalie Standiford

Astrid sees all : a novel, Natalie Standiford

Label
Astrid sees all : a novel
Title
Astrid sees all
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
Natalie Standiford
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
"New York's last bohemia--the glittering, decadent downtown club scene of the 1980s--is the setting for this brilliantly winning novel about a smart, vulnerable young woman taking a deep dive into her dark side, essential for fans of Sweetbitter, Fleabag, and books by Patti Smith. New York, 1984: Twenty-two-year-old Phoebe Hayes is a young woman in search of excitement and adventure. But the recent death of her father has so devastated her that her mother wants her to remain home in Baltimore to recover. Phoebe wants to return to New York, not only to chase the glamorous life she so desperately craves but also to confront Ivan, the older man who painfully wronged her. With her best friend Carmen, she escapes to the East Village, disappearing into an underworld haunted by artists, It Girls, and lost souls trying to party their pain away. Carmen juggles her junkie-poet boyfriend and a sexy painter while, as Astrid the Star Girl, Phoebe tells fortunes in a nightclub and plots her revenge on Ivan. When the intoxicating brew of sex, drugs, and self-destruction leads Phoebe to betray her friend, Carmen disappears, and Phoebe begins an unstoppable descent into darkness. She may have a chance to save herself-and Carmen, if she can find her-but to do it she must face what's hiding in the shadows she's been running from-within her heart and in the dangerous midnight streets. A love letter to gritty 1980s New York City, Astrid Sees All is an irresistible, original novel about female friendship, sex and romance, and what it's like to be a young woman searching for an identity"--
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
Cataloging source
DLC
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Standiford, Natalie
Dewey number
813/.6
Index
no index present
LC call number
PS3619.T364736
LC item number
A94 2021
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
  • East Village (New York, N.Y.)
  • FICTION / Literary
  • FICTION / Women
  • FICTION / Friendship
Label
Astrid sees all : a novel, Natalie Standiford
Instantiates
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
on1242943716
Dimensions
22 cm
Edition
First Atria Books hardcover edition.
Extent
x, 258 pages
Isbn
9781982153656
Lccn
2020034560
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)1242943716
Label
Astrid sees all : a novel, Natalie Standiford
Publication
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
on1242943716
Dimensions
22 cm
Edition
First Atria Books hardcover edition.
Extent
x, 258 pages
Isbn
9781982153656
Lccn
2020034560
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)1242943716

Library Locations

    • Memorial Hall Library (Andover)Borrow it
      2 North Main Street, Andover, MA, 01810, US
      42.6568333 -71.141443
Processing Feedback ...